Norman Safeground Blogs

insight, opinion & information

 
 

Facebook’s Secret Messaging

facebookIt seems that not a month goes by without us mentioning Facebook on these pages. When one website has nearly a seventh of the population of the planet as members, however, issues affecting their service are important to everyone.

The latest security issue to concern the social giant is the secrecy of your messages – but not the ones you send. Along with permanently storing your wall posts, messages and chat conversations, Facebook also has a system to track when you type a message but don’t actually send it.

Facebook refers to these non-posts as “self-censorship”, a process that, according to a study by Sauvik Das of Carnegie Mellon University, 71% of users exhibit at some point.

There’s no proof that Facebook is storing the content of these messages, but the idea that the company is already tracking this information is more than a little scary. It raises the question – what else does Facebook track? Just how much of our information is poured onto their computers?

So how do I stop Facebook getting my information?

If you’re a member of Facebook and you’re concerned about the privacy of your data, it’s important to remember that some of your information is going to be on their computers. After all, the sale of your data is how the company makes its money.

That said, there are some things you can do to prevent the social network from creeping too deeply into your life – although none of them will turn off the self-censorship tracking.

First, don’t put your real email address or phone number on Facebook. The company’s data use policy allows them to share that information with literally thousands of advertisers, all of whom could use that information to hassle you for the rest of your life. Alternatively, marketing companies can use that data to create a profile on you, learning you purchasing habits and tracking you that way.

Secondly, sign out of Facebook when you’re not using it, as the social network can track you across the internet. Do you know those website “like” buttons that appear on websites across the web, which let you mark when you appreciate a website? Facebook uses those to know that you’ve visited the website – even if you don’t click the buttons.

All those little links have to do is load and Facebook will already know that your user profile has visited that page. Scary.

Read all Facebook posts: here

Tags: ,

One Response to Facebook’s Secret Messaging

  1. Dave Smith says:

    “First, don’t put your real email address or phone number on Facebook.”

    well then you cant create an account. have to use a REAL address to set up the facebook.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

 

 
Norman

The Author:

For Consumption Bloggers

Norman Safeground Blogs Archive